Welcome to the Whakapapa Club Forums where you will find a wealth of information.  You are free to browse the forums, but if you wish to comment or add requests, you must register, which is quick and easy and you can even use your Facebook Login.

Once you have signed up and posted either a reply or a new post it will not appear in the forums until it has been approved – this is to stop spam from appearing and keeping our Whakapapa Club Forums relavent for Whakapapa only.

If someone helps you don’t forget to acknowlege them.

BOON, ?  

RSS
Gareth OWC
(@gareth-owc)

Hi, This may be a tough one. I recently discovered my grandfather had a great-grandparent of Maori descent but I can't find much info. All I know was that she was from Te Ati Awa in the Nelson/Marlborough area and she married a pakeha man with the surname Boon.
Is there any way to find out more about her (especially a name)? Any suggestions on where to start would be appreciated, I'm new to this and have no idea what I'm doing.

Posted : 10 January, 2007 8:55 am
Retimana OWC
(@retimana-owc)
Eminent Member

Kia Ora Gareth,

Begin by doing a Google search of Boon - name/family, great-grandfather, grandfather.

This will bring up several sites to search. (Geneology, Ancestry, LDS - Mormon)
All enable extensive and comprehensive searches to be carried out.

Also, Check out Maori.org.nz own reference guide, hints and instructions for searching for Tupuna/whanau. These will help.

Good Luck.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 10 January, 2007 9:19 am
Gareth OWC
(@gareth-owc)

Thanks for that, I'll give it a go. Granddad was pretty quiet about family so it was a bit of a mission to get the little bit of info I've got. Hopefully googling the name will come up with something.

ReplyQuote
Posted : 10 January, 2007 9:25 am
Retimana OWC
(@retimana-owc)
Eminent Member

It will!

ReplyQuote
Posted : 10 January, 2007 9:37 am
wmarsh OWC
(@wmarsh-owc)

quote: