Welcome to the Whakapapa Club Forums where you will find a wealth of information.  You are free to browse the forums, but if you wish to comment or add requests, you must register, which is quick and easy and you can even use your Facebook Login.

Once you have signed up and posted either a reply or a new post it will not appear in the forums until it has been approved – this is to stop spam from appearing and keeping our Whakapapa Club Forums relavent for Whakapapa only.

If someone helps you don’t forget to acknowlege them.

RAWIRI, Metiria: IWI and/or HAPU OF. WHIRINAKI/OPONONI/HOKIANGA  

RSS
teawaiti OWC
(@teawaiti-owc)

Im a 39yo student on the TWOA Mauri Ora Programme/Certificate
Im looking for help with any information about the whanau of "Metiria Rawiri" from Whirinaki/Opononi/Hokianga - for my studies and so that i can also identify with my grandmother's & mother's iwi/hapu.

Unfortunately i do not know enough about/of my grandmother's iwi or hapu relationships before pakeha contact. ie. i am trying to provide short answers/examples for the following questions.

1. Using the Iwi "Ngapuhi" Identify 3 iwi relationships with other iwi or hapu through bloodlines or decent (prior to pakeha contact) &

2. Describe 2 events that affected the relationship of this iwi or hapu to other iwi or hapu (prior to pakeha contact)

Is it just me, or are these questions alot harder than they sound

i thought it was important for me not to assume that my late grandmother who passed before i was born, was of Ngapuhi - so, this prompted me to find out for sure about what my tipuna's iwi & hapu are. To go back to pre-european times i would need to go back at least 3or4 generations.

If you are able to help me relate the above 2 patai to my whakapapa you will have revived me from ignorance. Here is what i have about my grandmother: Her whanau are from Whirinaki near Opononi/Hokianga (marae name:unknown)
Her name is Metiria Rawiri of >Hone Rawiri & Matapuna.