Welcome to the Whakapapa Club Forums where you will find a wealth of information.  You are free to browse the forums, but if you wish to comment or add requests, you must register, which is quick and easy and you can even use your Facebook Login.

Once you have signed up and posted either a reply or a new post it will not appear in the forums until it has been approved – this is to stop spam from appearing and keeping our Whakapapa Club Forums relavent for Whakapapa only.

If someone helps you don’t forget to acknowlege them.

Maori spirituality  

Page 1 / 8
  RSS
rosa OWC
(@rosa-owc)

Hi, I am a writer and am attempting to write a book based in New Zealand (i have been here for almost a year now)and would like there to be an essence of Maori spirituality in it, that is to say, i would like to reflect ancient beliefs that are still held by Maoris today, primarily concerning issues of death, souls, life cycle etc...i would also like to make a connection to dreams, but really need to find out what relevance, if any, dreams have within Maori belief systems...i am fully aware that not every Maori will necessarily believe in the same things, but am trying to find unifying beliefs which have transcended through time i.e. have withstood the appropriation by another culture and still hold fast today. If anyone can give me a starting point on Maori beliefs on spirituality i would be most grateful...of course if the book was ever to be published i would need accurate historical/academic supervision to ensure correct interpretation of something which i am largely ignorant of myself...but for now i just need a kick start...

Posted : 15 January, 2007 8:00 am
pono OWC
(@pono-owc)
Eminent Member

kia ora rosa

I wanted to be a book writer too!lol!
"my life & my kuia died aged 104 yrs
old lived at paeroa"

where are you from and how long you'll be staying in aotearoa?

ReplyQuote
Posted : 15 January, 2007 11:22 am
teawaiti OWC
(@teawaiti-owc)