Welcome to the Whakapapa Club Forums where you will find a wealth of information.  You are free to browse the forums, but if you wish to comment or add requests, you must register, which is quick and easy and you can even use your Facebook Login.

Once you have signed up and posted either a reply or a new post it will not appear in the forums until it has been approved – this is to stop spam from appearing and keeping our Whakapapa Club Forums relavent for Whakapapa only.

If someone helps you don’t forget to acknowlege them.

Stereotypes  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS
willt OWC
(@willt-owc)

Kia ora koutou katoa, my name is Will Taylor, I'm a student at the Dunedin College of Education. I have started a research project covering how Maori students can be affected in the Education system by both positive and negative sterotypes. All and any of your experiences would be much appreciated.

Kia ora

Posted : 01 November, 2006 2:35 pm
legaleagle OWC
(@legaleagle-owc)

Kia ora Will, it's very difficult to see how something affects you unless your waiting for it to happen. Alot of my life experiences were no doubt influenced by my ethicity.

Viz. Education. When I went to Uni I was one of 300 students in my first year enrolment. Of those 300 14 were Maori. 3 were male. I remember vividly one afternoon sitting in a tutorial when the Tutor approached me and asked where "Eddie" was. I replied that I didn't know who she was talking about, she said she just assumed... (that because we were both Maori...).